Book Blitz : Teenage Temptation & Personal Honor by Meena Jelks

This is my stop during the book blitz for Teenage Temptation & Personal Honor by Meena Jelks. This book blitz is organized by Lola’s Blog Tours and runs from 11 till 15 July. View the tour schedule here

Read this book for free!
From 11 till 15 July Teenage Temptation & Personal Honor by Meena Jelks will be free on amazon

 

 

Teenage Temptation & Personal Honor

 

Teenage Temptation & Personal Honor
by Meena Jelks
Genre: Teen Fiction/ Contemporary
Age category: Young Adult
Release Date: 31 May, 2016

Blurb:
Fifteen year old Gaby swore she’d always put books before boys. She could solve an algebraic expression faster than anyone in her class, play Bach’s Toccata and Fugue in D minor with better technique than her music teacher, but couldn’t tell her best friend Anna that she secretly adored her older brother, Josh.

Gaby’s secret feelings tormented her for almost a year. Now that they were all going to be counselors at Camp Sesquahade for the summer, Gaby wondered how long she’d be able to keep her own secret.

Surrounded by temptation, she worries about shattering her good-girl image. Will Gaby get through summer without falling victim to her furtive feelings?
How can she be with Josh while standing firm on her values and morals?

You can find Teenage Temptation & Personal Honor on Goodreads

View the book trailer for Teenage Temptation & Personal Honor here on Youtube

You can buy Teenage Temptation & Personal Honor here:
Amazon
Amazon Paperback
Amazon UK

Exclusive Excerpt

“Gaby, why don’t you just stop fighting Josh and be with him? What are you waiting for?”

“What’s the rush, Rene?”

“Well, you are the only one of us that doesn’t have someone,” she pointed out.

I turned to face her.

“Rene, I don’t need a boyfriend to feel complete,” I said, becoming a little defensive.

“Gaby, open your eyes. Josh likes you.”

“Don’t you think I am aware of his feelings? I know. And I like him too but I don’t need to be pressured.”

“Gaby…” she began. I didn’t give her the opportunity to finish her sentence.

“Look, I know what you’re going to say and I don’t need a lecture on relationships.”

I began to walk away, but decided to turn back around and let  my  frustrations completely out on her.

“And for your information, I live life according to Gaby, not according to what everyone around Gaby is doing, so get off my back! You will never see me chasing after some boy whose only interest in me lies between my legs.”

After that, I ran out of the assembly hall not caring if I caused a scene. Why couldn’t  people just except the fact that I am not like everyone else? Don’t I get brownie points for being me? Carly and Anna called for me to come back, but I didn’t bother to look back and they didn’t  follow. The forbidden woods were calling me. Nothing mattered anymore and as my sandals pounded against the rough terrain, I realized there was someone following me. It was Josh. I was too embarrassed and didn’t want him to see the tears falling down my face. I just wanted to get away. Unfortunately he was faster and stronger than me and eventually caught up.

“Come out of here before we both get lost,” he commanded out of breath.

When we were back on camp grounds, he looked at me as if he saw me for the first time.

“What is up with you?”

“I don’t know!” I shouted. “I am so confused! Everybody is putting pressure on me to be with you. ‘Why don’t you just get with Josh, Gaby? Just do it once and get it over with, Gaby!’”

My voice became louder with every second.

“I am so sick and tired of it,” I yelled.

My tears fell uncontrollably. He held me close without saying a word.

“Maybe they’re right, Josh. Maybe we should just do it and get it over with,” I said, defeat overcoming my voice.

“Gaby, you’re not thinking clearly. We both know that you don’t mean that.”

We walked to the beach to relieve some of my anger. Everyone was at Anna’s party, so the beach was pretty deserted. We sat at the edge of the shore. The water was cool against my warm skin.

“This is nice,” he said looking out into the water.

“Yeah, it is,” I agreed.

“So, Gaby, please tell me how you became such an amazing singer. I heard you today in the entertainment complex.”

“When I was younger my dad made me practice piano every day until my fingers cramped. I just wanted to play outside with Anna,” I laughed. “Eventually, I began to enjoy it and began to hum along with the pieces I played and that is how I started singing.”

“Well, you were incredible. I was impressed.”

I thought to myself for a moment. Maybe without thinking, perhaps subconsciously, I wrote that song I sang earlier about myself with Josh in mind.

“Gaby, will you sing that song again?”

I took a deep breath and let the melody flow effortlessly from within me, forgetting that Josh was even sitting next to me. I brought the lyrics to life by gathering up every emotion deep down in my soul.

“There are so many layers to you, Gaby,” he said after I finished.

We talked about the future. I told him I wanted to teach music and he talked about being an architect. Josh had been into drawing and landscaping for as long as I could remember. He was the only guy I knew who had model replicas of various buildings sprawled around his bedroom floor. I could feel the intensity of his eyes on me the entire time, but for the first time, it didn’t make me uncomfortable.

“Gaby, you’re the kind of girl I want to marry. You’ve got your priorities in check and you know what you want out of life. Most girls your age only think about boys, themselves, clothes, or other meaningless things. But not you.”

“Well, my mom always told me that life is the most precious gift ever given to anyone and it should be taken full advantage of.”

“She’s right,” he agreed.

“Always is,” I added, smiling.

I looked at my watch.

“Josh, it’s getting late. We’d better get back.”

Note from the author:

My YA novel, Teenage Temptation & Personal Honor, is finally complete at 74,059 words. Fifteen-year-old Gabrielle Perez is a straight A good-girl musical prodigy. Gaby comes from a hard-working, two parent, loving home, lives in an upper-middle class neighborhood in a small town in upstate NY and has lived a pretty sheltered life up until now. With her junior year ending and summer camp looming around the corner, Gaby isn’t sure how long she can keep her secret from her best friend, Anna. What’s her secret: she is in love with Anna’s older brother Josh. Gaby is forced to deal with her hidden feelings this summer as they all attend Camp Sesquahade as summer counselors.

Over the summer, Gaby gets a taste of her first kiss, first crush and first heartache. She realizes quickly that being book smart isn’t the same as being street smart. And that being into a boy doesn’t necessarily mean that you have to give into your desires. Gaby is faced with the decision to follow behind what all her friends are doing, or staying true to her values and morals. But Gaby’s life is changing with unexpected and meaningful relationships that broaden her sense of what love and loss is. These new relationships along with the discovery of love, maturing and following your dreams leads Gaby down a path of uncertainty and confusion. How will she ever learn to balance it all?

This is a coming of age story of self-discovery, self-empowerment and how the many shapes of love – maternal, romantic and platonic – lead to Gaby’s struggle to come to terms with growing up and owning your destiny.

This novel was has been a labor of love for so very long. I hope that you enjoy reading it. My personal experiences as a teenager (oh so many years ago) being exposed to similar scenarios and just having a longing for characters that realistically portray a young girl’s growing up.

 

 

 

Meena Jelks
Meena Jelks is a dreamer. From an early age, she developed a voracious appetite for reading, writing and daydreaming. Being a writer was always something she loved but never thought would ever come to fruition. That is, until she decided to take her writing seriously, bypassing the traditional limitations of the literary industry as a whole.

A fan of punchier, pacier, and chattier books, her love for Young Adult (YA) fiction cultivated her desire to do what makes her happiest–she believes you don’t have to be a teen to enjoy reading or writing stories of self-exploration, new-found love, or uncharted waters.

Young Adult/Teen fiction is exploding now, it’s finally getting the recognition that it deserves. Meena is so happy to be contributing to such an amazing movement right now. Her first book, Teenage Temptation & Personal Honor will debut May, 2016.

You can find and contact Meena Jelks here:
Website
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads
Amazon
Instagram

Everything BluEmber Summer Swag Bag Giveaway
There is a tour wide giveaway for the book blitz of Teenage Temptation & Personal Honor. One winner will win an Everything BluEmber Summer Swag Bag (US Only).
This swag bag will include a BluEmber Books Cotton Zippered Tote filled with:
– an Amazon Fire Tablet
– BluEmber Books Silicon Wristband
– BluEmber Books Aluminum Water Bottle
– a Beach Towel

For a chance to win, enter the rafflecopter below:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 


banner Lola's Blog Tours

About Cristina

I started this blog for quite a few reasons: 1. To share my opinions about books I read. (I'm open to recommendations) 2. To express myself in the only way that I love,which is of course writing 3. To connect with people with whom I may share the same interests I read and write because it offers me an escape door from the world we live in. A door which allows me to be whomever I want to be, live wherever in this big world,set off on adventures and most of all because it brings my imagination back to life from its very very long sleep. And of course...Because I love to !! Here are some basic things about your host and writer.. My name is Cristina and I come from Bucharest ( also known as The Little Paris ) were I was born, raised and am currently - still - living. I’ve finished my studies a few years ago and got my bachelor degree at Dimitrie Cantemir University, in my hometown; in Economics. I have to admit that this specialty wasn't my first choice. I have been weighing my choices – as in, to what they can provide me in future – both while I was still in high school and after. Initially I wanted to go to Foreign Languages, but I had a big fall the moment I saw that it wasn't acredited – huge disappointment washed over me. I am still a bit disappointed about that to be honest. I have a huge passion for writing ever since I was little, and even if I had times when I didn't (or couldn't) write anything, now I am right back on track. My dad is the only one who knows how much passion I put into what I write and doesn't giggle or grin when I bring it up. I love having someone’s support no matter how little it is,it still means so much to me. Love, Cris ♥ Hope that those who will follow me like what I post around here and - why not - maybe give some ideas about new topics. :) If anyone wants to add something on the blog please contact me at cristinacryss0@gmail.com

Posted on 12/07/2016, in Book Releases and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Hello there! This post could not be written any better!
    Looking through this article reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He continually kept talking about this. I am going to forward this post to
    him. Fairly certain he will have a very good read.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video
    to make your point. You clearly know what youre talking about, why throw away your intelligence on just posting videos to your
    weblog when you could be giving us something informative to read?

    Like

  3. I do accept as true with all of the ideas you have introduced to your post. They’re very convincing and can definitely work. Nonetheless, the posts are very brief for starters. May you please extend them a little from next time? Thanks for the post.

    Like

  4. You completed a few fine points there. I did a search on the matter and found mainly persons will have the same opinion with your blog.

    Like

  5. Hello theгe. You’ᴠe done an excellent job. I’ll definitely dig іt and personally suggest to my friends. Ӏ am confident they wiⅼl bе benefited from this website.

    Like

  6. I visited lots of website yet I this one this one holds lots
    of insightful things.

    Like

  7. I’ve been bfowsing online more than 2 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It is pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content ass you did, the web will bbe
    much more useful than ever before.|
    I couldn’t refrain from commenting. Perfectly written!|
    I’ll immediately seize your rss as I can not to find your e-mail subscription link or e-newsletter service.

    Do you’ve any? Kindly allow me realize in ordder thbat I could subscribe.
    Thanks.|
    It’s appropriate time to make some plans for the future
    and it’s timme to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I
    coul I wish to suggest you few interesting things or advice.
    Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this article.
    I wish to read even more things about it!|
    It’s appropriate time to make sopme plans for the fuyure and it
    is time to be happy. I’ve read this publish and if I may I want too counsel you some interesting
    issues oor advice. Maybe you can write subsequent articles relating to this article.
    I desire to read more things approximately it!|
    I’ve been browsing on-line more than 3 hours
    lately,but I never found any attention-grabbing article like
    yours. It’s lovely worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all webmasters
    and bloggers made excellent contsnt as you probably did,
    the internet can be much more helpful than ever before.|
    Ahaa, its pleasant dialogue concerning this post at this place att this
    website, I have read all that, so at this time me also commenting at this
    place.|
    I am sure this post has touched all the interneet users, its really really pleasant post on building up new blog.|
    Wow, this post iss nice, my sister is analyzing sudh things, so I
    am going to let know her.|
    Saved as a favorite, I like your web site!|
    Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you penning this post and also the resst of
    the site is reallky good.|
    Hi, I do believe this is an excellent web site.
    I stumbledupon it 😉 I’m going to return yet
    again since I book marked it. Money and freedom is the best way to
    change, may you be rich andd continue to help other people.|
    Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme oof tyis blog.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s difficult to get that
    “perfect balance” befween superb usability and visual appeal.

    I must say you’ve done a amazing job with this. In addition, the blog loads extremely quick for me onn Internet explorer.
    Exceptional Blog!|
    These aree actually wonderful ideas in concerning blogging.
    You have touched some fastidious points here.
    Any way keep up wrinting.|
    I likle what you gjys are usually up too. This type off clever work and coverage!
    Keep uup the great works guys I’ve adsed you
    guys to our blogroll.|
    Howdy! Someone in mmy Facebook group shared this website with
    us so I came to look it over. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will
    be tweeting this to my followers! Fantastic blog and superb
    design.|
    I really like what you guys are usually up too.

    Such clever work and coverage! Keep up the awesome wors
    guy I’ve added you guys to our blogroll.|
    Hello would you mind stating which blg platform
    you’re using? I’m going to start my own blog soon but I’m
    havfing a haqrd time making a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.

    The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blos and I’m
    looking for something unique. P.S My
    apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!|
    Hi woulkd you mind letting me knlw which web host you’re working with?
    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 coimpletely different internet browsers and I must say this blog lolads a lot faster then most.
    Can you recommend a good internet hosting provider at a
    honest price? Many thanks, I appreciate it!|
    I really like it when folks comne together and
    share views. Great website, kesep it up!|
    Thank youu for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it.
    Look advanhed to more added agreeable from you! However, how could we communicate?|
    Hey there just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your poost seem too be
    running off the screen in Internet explorer.
    I’m not sure if tthis is a format issue or something to do with internet browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know.
    The style and design look gret though! Hope you get the issue resolved
    soon.Kudos|
    This is a topic that iss close to my heart…
    Best wishes! Where are your contact details though?|
    It’s very straightforward to find oout any matter on net as
    compared to books, as Ifound this paragraph at this web site.|
    Does yourr blog have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating
    it but, I’d like to send you an e-mail. I’ve got some creatiove ideas for your blolg you might
    be interested in hearing. Either way, great website and
    I lopk forward to seeing it develop over time.|
    Hola! I’ve bden following your web site for a long time now and finally got the
    bravery too go ahead and give you a shout out from New Caney Tx!
    Just wanted to mention kedp up the excellent work!|
    Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to browse your website
    on my iphone during lunch break. I love thee information you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.

    I’m shocked at howw quicxk your blog loaded on my phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, amazing blog!|
    Itss such as you learn my thoughts! You seem to know so muc about this, like you wrote the blok in it
    orr something. I think that you simoly cann
    do with a few % to drive the message house a bit, but other than that, this is wonderful blog.
    A great read. I’ll definitely be back.|
    Ivisited various web sites however the auduo qquality for aufio songs existing at this website iis actually
    wonderful.|
    Hello, i read your blog occasionally and i owwn a similar one and i wass jjust curious if you gett a lot of spam responses?
    If so how do you protect against it, any plugin or anything you
    can advise? I gett so much lately it’s driving me insane so any elp is very much appreciated.|
    Greetings! Very helpful advice within this article!
    It’s the little changes which will make the most important changes.
    Thaznks a lot for sharing!|
    I seriously love your blog.. Very nice colors & theme.
    Did you develop this web site yourself? Please
    reply bahk as I’m looking too create my very own blog and want to learn where
    you got this from or what the theme is called. Thank you!|
    Howdy! Thiss article couldn’t bee written any better! Looking through this article reminds
    me of my previous roommate! He always kept preaching about
    this. I am going to forward this post to him. Fairly certain hhe will have a great read.

    Thank youu for sharing!|
    Whoa! This blog looks exactly like myy old
    one! It’s onn a completely diffeent subject but it has pretty much
    the same layout and design. Outstanding choice
    of colors!|
    There’s certainlpy a great deal to learn about this subject.
    I really like all of the points you hve made.|
    You mad some really good points there. Ichecked on the net for additional information about
    thhe issue and found most people will go along with your
    views on this website.|
    Hi there, I check your blog on a regular basis.

    Your humoristic style is witty, keep up the good work!|
    I simply could not depart your web site prior to suggesting that I extremely
    enjoyed the usual info a person provide in your visitors?
    Is gonna be back ceaselessly in order to check out new posts|
    I want to to thank you forr this very good read!!
    I certainly enjoyed every bit of it. I have
    gott you book-marked to check out new things yyou post…|
    Hello, jjst wanted to mention, I enjoyed this article. It was inspiring.
    Keep on posting!|
    Hi there, Ienjoy reading all of your post. I wanted to write a little comment too support you.|
    I always spent my half an hour to read this weblog’s posts every day along with a cup oof coffee.|
    I all tthe time emailed this webloog post page to all my contacts, forr the reason that if
    like to read it next my links will too.|
    My developer is trying to persuade me to move to
    .net from PHP. I hwve always disliked the idea because of the costs.

    But he’s tryiong none thee less. I’ve been using WordPrrss on a number of websites for about a year
    and am concerned aboout switching to another platform.
    I have hewrd fanntastic things about blogengine.net.
    Is there a way I can transfer all my wordpress posts into
    it? Any kind of help would be really appreciated!|
    Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve visited ths site before but after looking at some oof
    the articles I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m certainly happy I found
    it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back often!|
    Wonderful work! This is the type oof information that
    are meant to be shared across the internet. Disgrface on Google
    for not positioning this put up higher! Come on over
    and discuss wioth my webite . Thank you =)|
    Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this oard aand I find It really useful
    & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give sometthing back annd help others llike yyou helped me.|
    Hi, There’s no doubt that your website might be having web browser compatibility
    problems. When I look at your blog inn Safari, it looks fine however,
    iff opening in Internet Explorer, it’s got some overlapping issues.
    I sinply wanted to provide you with a quick heads up!
    Apart from that, excellent blog!|
    Somebody essentiall help to make seriously posts I wwould state.
    This is tthe very first tie I frequented your web page
    annd so far? I suurprised with the research youu made to make this
    particular put up extraordinary. Excellent activity!|
    Heya i’m for the primary time here. I found this board
    and I in finding It reallyy useful & it helped me outt a lot.
    I am hoping to provide one thing back and help others
    such as you helped me.|
    Hey there! I just would like to offerr you a huge thumbs up for your excellent information you’ve got right
    here onn this post. I am coming back to your website for more soon.|
    I all thee time used to read paragraph inn news pzpers but now as
    I am a userr of net so from now I am using net for articles,
    thanks to web.|
    Your mode of explaining all in this article is really pleasant,
    ecery one bee capable of simply understand it, Thanks a lot.|
    Heello there, I discovered your website by mmeans of Googlle whilst looking for
    a similar matter, your weeb site came up, it appears to be like good.
    I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hello there, just become aware of your blog thru Google, and located that it’s truly informative.
    I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I’ll be
    grateful when you continue this in future. Lots of other folks will probably
    bbe benefited from your writing. Cheers!|
    I’m curious to find out whazt blog system you have been utilizing?
    I’mexperiencing some small security issues with my latest website and I’d like
    to find something more safeguarded. Do yoou have any
    solutions?|
    I’m really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your weblog.
    Is this a paid theme or did you cstomize it yourself?
    Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it
    is rare to see a nice blog like tjis one these
    days.|
    I am really impressed with your writing skills and also ith the format
    on your weblog. Is that this a paid subject or
    didd you customize it yourself? Either wayy keep up the nice high quality writing, it’s
    uncommon to peer a nice blog like this one nowadays..|
    Hi, Neat post. There is a problem along with your web site in internet explorer, could check this?
    IE still iss the marketplace leader and a large ccomponent to othe people will miss your excellent writing because off this problem.|
    I’m not sure where you are getting your information, but good
    topic. I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more.
    Thanks ffor wonderful info I was looking for
    this info for my mission.|
    Hello, i thknk that i saw you visited my blog thus i came to
    “return the favor”.I am trying to find things to improve my web site!I suppose its
    ok to use a few of your idea\

    Like

  8. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate to this excellent blog!
    I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed
    to my Google account. I look forward to fresh updates and will
    talk about this blog with my Facebook group. Talk soon! https://warrenolvera28.wordpress.com/2016/12/29/three-ways-driving-games-can-drive-you-bankrupt-fast/

    Like

  9. This is my first time to visit here. I found a variety of engaging stuff
    as part of your blog, particularly its discourse. From the tons of
    comments on the posts, I guess I’m not the only one having most
    of the enjoyment! Keep up the favorable job.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tentațiile unei Eve

Numai bune pentru bărbați

writingforwords

The blog of author Cassandra Fear, writer of Above the Flames-the first book in The Flames Trilogy available on Amazon now! Amazon US: http://amzn.to/1Njblav Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/1Vxseju

Tich Brewster

Author of Young Adult and Contemporary Romance

The Next Step PR, LLC

Taking Authors to the Next Level

Ryan Jo Summers

A Soul on a Journey

Melanie Fellman Writes

Navigating through this adventure called life

Hanna Peach

USA TODAY Bestselling Author of Fantasy

Life&Photography Blog

"You don't take a photograph. You make it." Ansel Adams

comfy reading

the book blog for the comfy reader

Illusion's Street

străduţa mea de iluzii

Empathic Perspectives

An Exploration Of The Empath's Mind

