ARC Review & Favorite Quotes: Bet On Me by Mia Hoddell

Bet On Me

Bet On Me by Mia Hoddell

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

¬ARC kindly provided by the author in exchange for an honest review¬

If it were possible I’d be giving this book no less than 10 stars !

Mia’s writing style is amazing, her books – please note that, for me this was my second book written by her that I’ve read so far, but I intend to read everything she’s written – are very fast paced, highly addictive, action packed and well written. Bet On Me promises to keep you on the edge of your seat. Her talent really pays off and you can see that in her books. I can now declare myself her forever to be fan, no doubt !

Bet On Me makes no difference when it comes down to how fast things go. It captivated me right after the first chapter to be honest, and through almost half of it in only one night.
Alaya, depicts everything that most of us want to be and do in life. Completely fed up with what her family wanted for her, she sets up herself for an adventurous and self discovery journey. A journey in which she promises herself not to fall in love, since that is one thing she doesn’t want in life. Or so she thinks…On her train ride to France, she meets the amazingly gorgeous and funny guy, named Cole or Hazel, how she calls him.

Cole on the other hand, doesn’t want to rediscover himself. He tries to fend off his past, leave all the bad things he’s done, as far away as possible. He’s been a bad guy in the past…but a bad guy with good intentions.

Laughing and talking their entire trip, they don’t realize what is growing up between them. A very deep, unwanted attraction towards one another that both tend to deny. One thing is for sure, following Alaya everywhere will make Cole fall for her hard and fast and there’s nothing he can do about it. Everything is well, until someone from his past comes up on his tail and he finds himself again on the run, even if he doesn’t want to leave her behind. From that point on, Alaya will face the dangers he warned her about on the train.

 

 

FAVORITE QUOTES :

”If you don`t know what you’re looking for, you’re not going to find it.You say you want excitement, but what kind? Do you want an adrenaline rush ? To party all night ? Fall in love ? Chase the sun until you can’t run any further ? If you don’t know what you want, you’re only going to wander. You have to know yourself inside and out – the good,bad, dark and light  – if you’re to know what you really want.„

”You’re impossible.”

”I prefer the term one of a kind.”

”Lesson one about learning to live : you make your own decisions. I gave you an opportunity and you chose to take it.

Lesson number two : nothing you want is ever easy, but those things are worth the fight.”

”If you want to live, you re going to have to fight. If you’re not fighting, you’re dead inside. It s that drive – that desire – which pushes you to the limit.”

”For seven years I’ve  laid low, kept my head down, and done nothing but what I was supposed to. I got up, worked,ate, and slept only to repeat the cycle next day. I cut a lot of people from my life – for a good reason – but I m tired of shit hanging over me.”

”Right now I’m dead inside, and if I continue much longer, I might as well be dead and buried too, I m tired of hiding and letting things rule my life. Ive lost too many years to fear and I want to be free of it.”

”I don’t believe people ever change totally. Situations may mold someone so they can grow, but the innate personality you’re trying to to ditch will always be there.”

”Don’t panic so much. This trip is about having fun. You want to live, so do it.”

”Fight for what you want. Let go. Have fun.”

”The past doesn’t have to affect your future. You can choose to let go of it. What if your past is chasing you ? Not everyone can let go. I may be a fast runner, but it’s going to catch up with me someday.”

„He worked his way into my life, fed off my freedom, and then he took it with him. I’d grown too close and now nothing held the same appeal without him there to make me laugh.

He said he wasn’t bored of me, yet maybe he lied. It wouldn’t have been the first after all. In fact, I shouldn’t have even been surprised by the disappearing act.”

”If I had nothing to get excited about, then I couldn’t compare the empty feeling inside of me to anything. There were no  highs or lows, just a casual acceptance of my existence.„

„I miss you like my cat misses its flees.”

About Cristina

I started this blog for quite a few reasons: 1. To share my opinions about books I read. (I'm open to recommendations) 2. To express myself in the only way that I love,which is of course writing 3. To connect with people with whom I may share the same interests I read and write because it offers me an escape door from the world we live in. A door which allows me to be whomever I want to be, live wherever in this big world,set off on adventures and most of all because it brings my imagination back to life from its very very long sleep. And of course...Because I love to !! Here are some basic things about your host and writer.. My name is Cristina and I come from Bucharest ( also known as The Little Paris ) were I was born, raised and am currently - still - living. I’ve finished my studies a few years ago and got my bachelor degree at Dimitrie Cantemir University, in my hometown; in Economics. I have to admit that this specialty wasn't my first choice. I have been weighing my choices – as in, to what they can provide me in future – both while I was still in high school and after. Initially I wanted to go to Foreign Languages, but I had a big fall the moment I saw that it wasn't acredited – huge disappointment washed over me. I am still a bit disappointed about that to be honest. I have a huge passion for writing ever since I was little, and even if I had times when I didn't (or couldn't) write anything, now I am right back on track. My dad is the only one who knows how much passion I put into what I write and doesn't giggle or grin when I bring it up. I love having someone’s support no matter how little it is,it still means so much to me. Love, Cris ♥ Hope that those who will follow me like what I post around here and - why not - maybe give some ideas about new topics. :) If anyone wants to add something on the blog please contact me at cristinacryss0@gmail.com

Posted on 28/05/2016, in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Elle Middaugh

YA - NA - Fantasy - Romance

Tentațiile unei Eve

Numai bune pentru bărbați

writingforwords

The blog of author Cassandra Fear, writer of Above the Flames-the first book in The Flames Trilogy available on Amazon now! Amazon US: http://amzn.to/1Njblav Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/1Vxseju

Tich Brewster

Author of Young Adult and Contemporary Romance

The Next Step PR, LLC

Taking Authors to the Next Level

Ryan Jo Summers

A Soul on a Journey

Melanie Fellman Writes

Navigating through this adventure called life

Hanna Peach

USA TODAY Bestselling Author of Fantasy

Life&Photography Blog

"You don't take a photograph. You make it." Ansel Adams

comfy reading

the book blog for the comfy reader

Illusion's Street

străduţa mea de iluzii

Empathic Perspectives

An Exploration Of The Empath's Mind

