Book Blitz.Excerpt & GIVEAWAY: Elemental Secrets by Elle Middaugh

ES
Title : Elemental Secrets
by : Elle Middaugh
Series : The Essential Elements, #1
Publication date: February 27th 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Purchase Link : Amazon
a goodreads button

Synopsis:

Valerie Moore was a beautiful, headstrong girl with below-average social skills and above-average anxiety (including a flair for over-analyzing).

With her mother long deceased, and her father recently deployed, she ends up being sent to live with her eccentric aunt in a tiny town nestled in the mountains of Pennsylvania. But, being a Navy brat had made her into a bit of a loner, and making friends certainly wasn’t her strongest suit. As if the life of a typical teen wasn’t hard enough.

But Valerie soon discovers she’s not a typical teenager. Not by a long shot.

SECRETS are revealed…

…About her family, about her newfound friends and relationships, and about her whole world… Things that have been kept from her for her entire life…

But the biggest secret of all is revealed when Valerie discovers that she has Elemental powers, and a chain of inexplicable and irrevocable events unleashes throughout the little town…

Exclusive Excerpt

Just then, Jay leapt from his chair. He froze and cocked an ear toward the tree line. “Did  you hear that?” he asked us. “Turn the music off.”

Chase bolted to the speakers, and just as he killed the music, the impossible happened.

Suddenly, the entire bonfire snuffed out all at once. No warning, no smoke. Just poof, total  darkness.

“Chase!” Holden yelled.

“On it!” he shouted back quickly as the fire rose back up out of the ashes, brighter than  before, casting light back through the alcove.

“Sienna, get her out of here,” Holden demanded as he lifted us out of the chair. He kissed  me, then pulled me out of the way of a falling tree limb. “Go! I’ll meet you back at my house as soon as I can.”

More branches fell all around me as I sprinted after Sienna. The world was sloshing around like a drink as I ran. I felt heavy and weightless at the same time, and the ground seemed  to latch and loosen around my feet, as if it couldn’t quite decide whether to trip me or not. I nearly fell at least a dozen times, but a sudden gust of wind consistently kept me upright. I might’ve been drunk, but this was the strangest weather pattern I’d ever seen… Global-mother-fucking-warming.

There was an explosion. I stumbled to a halt on my hands and knees and glanced back.

Half of the woods were on fire, fueled by a vengeful wind that pushed it wildly through the trees.

Holden! I turned to run back, but Sienna grabbed my arm.

“He’s fine, Valerie, I promise! Let’s go!”

“No one is fine, Sienna! The whole damn forest is burning!” The panic overtaking my  system was fueled by adrenaline, but it burned through the alcohol in my blood as well. I needed to get to Holden. It was the only thing I knew through the chaos.

Then suddenly, the flames doused out. Hot steam rising from the bark was the only reminder that they were ever alight.

What. The. Hell!?

I had never been more terrified in my entire life. I had no idea how to explain the shit that  I’d just seen, except for ‘global warming’, or ‘being drunk’. Or, worst of all, ‘supernatural’  crossed my mind, and what the hell kind of explanation was that?

“Valerie! Run!” Sienna cried as it began to rain.

No, it was pouring, and I could sense that it was freezing cold, even if I couldn’t feel it.

In fact, it was freezing. Balls of hail soared to the earth like rockets, as if they weighed more than they should, or like gravity had been multiplied.

Finally, my feet kicked into action. I righted myself and ran once more toward Holden’s  house.

When I shot from the woods, I wanted to drop to the pavement and cry,or puke,or  scream, but I was too afraid a tree might lean over and pummel me, so I ran until I burst through the front door.

Elleauthor-photo

Elle Middaugh is a newly published author, born in the sticks outside of Clearfield, Pennsylvania. After moving around the east coast a number of times, she now lives in her hometown with her husband and three children.

Reading has been a favorite past time since Elementary School and choose-your-own-adventure books. Writing has been her dream since Middle School when she first began penning her own material. Being published is the most awesome achievement in her writing career so far, but she hopes for more exciting landmarks and stepping stones in the future!

She’s a proud Navy wife; a frazzle-brained mother; a homebody who dislikes cleaning; a fan of tennis, and fitness in general; a lover of hot tea, mountain dew, and all things fiction; and she’s a bigger My Little Pony fan than her children.

Author links :

Website

Goodreads

Facebook

Twitter

GIVEAWAY 

About Cristina

I started this blog for quite a few reasons: 1. To share my opinions about books I read. (I'm open to recommendations) 2. To express myself in the only way that I love,which is of course writing 3. To connect with people with whom I may share the same interests I read and write because it offers me an escape door from the world we live in. A door which allows me to be whomever I want to be, live wherever in this big world,set off on adventures and most of all because it brings my imagination back to life from its very very long sleep. And of course...Because I love to !! Here are some basic things about your host and writer.. My name is Cristina and I come from Bucharest ( also known as The Little Paris ) were I was born, raised and am currently - still - living. I’ve finished my studies a few years ago and got my bachelor degree at Dimitrie Cantemir University, in my hometown; in Economics. I have to admit that this specialty wasn't my first choice. I have been weighing my choices – as in, to what they can provide me in future – both while I was still in high school and after. Initially I wanted to go to Foreign Languages, but I had a big fall the moment I saw that it wasn't acredited – huge disappointment washed over me. I am still a bit disappointed about that to be honest. I have a huge passion for writing ever since I was little, and even if I had times when I didn't (or couldn't) write anything, now I am right back on track. My dad is the only one who knows how much passion I put into what I write and doesn't giggle or grin when I bring it up. I love having someone’s support no matter how little it is,it still means so much to me. Love, Cris ♥ Hope that those who will follow me like what I post around here and - why not - maybe give some ideas about new topics. :) If anyone wants to add something on the blog please contact me at cristinacryss0@gmail.com

Posted on 02/05/2016, in Book Releases and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Elle Middaugh

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tentațiile unei Eve

Numai bune pentru bărbați

writingforwords

The blog of author Cassandra Fear, writer of Above the Flames-the first book in The Flames Trilogy available on Amazon now! Amazon US: http://amzn.to/1Njblav Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/1Vxseju

Tich Brewster

Author of Young Adult and Contemporary Romance

The Next Step PR, LLC

Taking Authors to the Next Level

Ryan Jo Summers

A Soul on a Journey

Melanie Fellman Writes

navigating through this adventure called life

Hanna Peach

USA TODAY Bestselling Author of Fantasy

Life&Photography Blog

"You don't take a photograph. You make it." Ansel Adams

comfy reading

the book blog for the comfy reader

Illusion's Street

străduţa mea de iluzii

Empathic Perspectives

An Exploration Of The Empath's Mind

