Book Blitz: Hope of Memories by Olivia Rivers

InTheHopeOfMemories.jpg

In the Hope of Memories 

by: Olivia Rivers
Publication date: March 21st 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult

BLURB:

Hope is dying.

Hope Jackson has lived her short life to the fullest, but her four closest friends are

dangling on the brink of disaster. Right before dying of a rare heart condition, Hope sets

up a scavenger hunt across New York City using her graffiti art. The directions she

leaves her friends are simple: Solve the clues hidden in her art, and they’ll solve the

problems haunting their lives.

Hope is dead.

Two days after her heart fails, Hope’s friends are thrown together:

Aiden, her best friend, whose plans to attend college have been scattered by his

OCD.

Kali, her foster sister, whose last ties to sanity are as razor-thin as her anorexic

waistline.

Erik, her high school crush, whose success as an athlete is based on a lie with no end

in sight.

And Sam, her online pen-pal, whose perfect life exploded into chaos in the aftermath of

a school bombing.

Together, the four teens take to the streets of New York to complete Hope’s

scavenger hunt and fulfill her dying wishes. But in order to unravel the clues hidden in

Hope’s graffiti, her friends will need to confront their personal demons head on.

Hope is within reach.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / iBooks / Kobo / Scribd

EXCERPT:

“Wait!” I slam my hand against the door to stop it from clicking

shut, wincing as the splintered wood digs into me. “I’m looking for Hope. Hope Jackson.

She said she’d be here.”

The dude shakes his head. “She’s dead.”

My heart stutters a fast and hard beat, like it does right when I get tackled on the

field. “No. No, she’s not. She’s the exact opposite of dead. Today is her

eighteenth birthday. Her birthday party is about to start right now.”

Official Reason Number Infinity it Sucks to Be Going Blind: When you can’t see

right, you can’t stop a fist from colliding with your face. The dude’s knuckles crash into

my jaw, and I yelp, more out of shock than pain. I’m about to pound my own fist into the

freak when he starts talking again, this time in a tone that’s actually kind of pissed.

“She’s dead, you jerk! You really think it’s funny to joke about that?”

“I’m not joking!” I rub at my jaw with the back of my clenched hand. Part of me is

itching to mess up this guy’s face, but a larger part is starting to panic. “You’re the one

with the wrong info,” I say, silently praying I’m right. “Hope isn’t dead.”

The dude stares down at his hand and slowly curls and uncurls his fingers, like he

can’t quite believe he just threw a punch. Then he whispers, “You’re not messing with

me?”

“No! What kind of sick joke would that be? Like I said, I’m just trying to find her

birthday party. I got an invite from her, I swear. It said to come here.”

“Oh.”

Apparently, this conversation isn’t weird enough for him, so he has to add in some

awkward silence. Fan-freaking-tastic. Just when I’m starting to think he’s slipped into a

coma, he says, “Sorry I punched your face.”

I take a deep breath. “Just tell me where her birthday party is, okay?”

“I told you, there is no party. Hope is dead.”

“Christ, are you seriously going to make me explain this again? She’s not dead. It’s

her birthday today. As in the day when you celebrate a person being

alive.”

“It would have been her birthday,” the dude says, slipping back into his strange

monotone. “But now she’s dead.”

The seriousness in his voice makes my gut twist, and for a moment, I wonder if

maybe he hurt Hope. My hand edges toward my pocket, but just as I’m considering

grabbing my cell phone and dialing 9-1-1, I see a tear trickle down his cheek. It looks

strange on his expressionless face, but another tear quickly follows, and then a third. He

sniffs and turns away, wiping his right eye on the battered sleeve of his hoodie.

“What happened?” I ask, my voice a cracked whisper. All sorts of scenarios rush

through my head—Hope’s plane crashing on vacation, a car accident, getting caught in

a wrong-place-wrong-time shooting…

“You don’t know?” the dude asks.

“No. Was it in the news?”

The smallest beginning of a frown tugs at his lips. “Of course not. Why would the

news report about a stroke victim?”

“Stroke?” I repeat. “She had a stroke? What…why? What triggered it? She’s a

health freak.”

He blinks slowly and then says again, “You don’t know?”

 

Author Bio:

Olivia Rivers is a hybrid author of Young Adult fiction. Her works include the

independently published novels “Frost Fire” and “In the Hope of Memories,” along with

the traditionally published novel “Tone Deaf” (Skyhorse 2016.) As a certified geek, she

enjoys experimenting with new publishing technologies, and her online serials have

received over 1,000,000 hits on Wattpad.com. When Olivia isn’t working as a writer,

she’s a typical teen attending college in Northern California. Olivia is represented by

Laurie McLean of Fuse Literary, and nothing thrills her more than hearing from

readers.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter / Newsletter / Tumblr

 

Hosted by:

ButtonXBT1

About Cristina

I started this blog for quite a few reasons: 1. To share my opinions about books I read. (I'm open to recommendations) 2. To express myself in the only way that I love,which is of course writing 3. To connect with people with whom I may share the same interests I read and write because it offers me an escape door from the world we live in. A door which allows me to be whomever I want to be, live wherever in this big world,set off on adventures and most of all because it brings my imagination back to life from its very very long sleep. And of course...Because I love to !! Here are some basic things about your host and writer.. My name is Cristina and I come from Bucharest ( also known as The Little Paris ) were I was born, raised and am currently - still - living. I’ve finished my studies a few years ago and got my bachelor degree at Dimitrie Cantemir University, in my hometown; in Economics. I have to admit that this specialty wasn't my first choice. I have been weighing my choices – as in, to what they can provide me in future – both while I was still in high school and after. Initially I wanted to go to Foreign Languages, but I had a big fall the moment I saw that it wasn't acredited – huge disappointment washed over me. I am still a bit disappointed about that to be honest. I have a huge passion for writing ever since I was little, and even if I had times when I didn't (or couldn't) write anything, now I am right back on track. My dad is the only one who knows how much passion I put into what I write and doesn't giggle or grin when I bring it up. I love having someone’s support no matter how little it is,it still means so much to me. Love, Cris ♥ Hope that those who will follow me like what I post around here and - why not - maybe give some ideas about new topics. :) If anyone wants to add something on the blog please contact me at cristinacryss0@gmail.com

Posted on 21/03/2016, in Book Releases and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Tentațiile unei Eve

Numai bune pentru bărbați

writingforwords

The blog of author Cassandra Fear, writer of Above the Flames-the first book in The Flames Trilogy available on Amazon now! Amazon US: http://amzn.to/1Njblav Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/1Vxseju

Tich Brewster

Author of Young Adult and Contemporary Romance

The Next Step PR, LLC

Taking Authors to the Next Level

Ryan Jo Summers

A Soul on a Journey

Melanie Fellman Writes

navigating through this adventure called life

Hanna Peach

USA TODAY Bestselling Author of Fantasy

Life&Photography Blog

"You don't take a photograph. You make it." Ansel Adams

comfy reading

the book blog for the comfy reader

Illusion's Street

străduţa mea de iluzii

Empathic Perspectives

An Exploration Of The Empath's Mind

