Book Tour : Secrets Don’t Make Friends by Lyla Payne

SecretsdontmakeFriends_1000x1500 (2)

Suspense/Thriller
Date Published : 11/17/2015 

Buying Links : Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo | Google Play

BLURB : 

Jeyne Dalton has graduated from college, medical school, and has slogged through half of a surgical internship year with flying colors, which she figures HAS to mean she’s put her past – and her family – behind her for good. If only she hadn’t answered that random ad for a roommate, her life would be pretty damn perfect.

Dinah Robbins knows that, no matter what she does, the horror that is her life will never be behind her…unless her controlling, threatening, abusive boyfriend finally kills her. She’s floating, waiting, and advertised for a roommate as a last ditch, listless effort to save herself a few beatings here and there.

Jeyne and Dinah may have been roommates for months, but they’re not anything like friends. In fact, they hardly know each other at all – until the night Jeyne comes home late to find Dinah in a heap of trouble. The two girls then find themselves sharing a secret that brings them together in a way they never expected. And upends their lives in a way they may never be able to set right.

 

Book Trailer :  

 

“That was…hilarious… Good one,” I gasped, because it was.

She didn’t reply, her dark, in-need-of-a-tweeze eyebrows nearly buried in her hairline.

She seemed to gather herself after a moment, hiking her messenger bag up on her

shoulder and checking her cell phone. The others moved closer, including Jeyne in our

group by accident, all wanting to know what had tickled me so thoroughly. My laugh felt

rusty, a little raw against my throat.

The guy whose name I’d purposefully forgot put out a hand and laid it on my arm, his

brown eyes playful. “Are you going to be okay there? Need any medical attention?”

Before I could point out that my roommate was a doctor or slip out from under his

touch, Tritt appeared out of thin air, elbowing Jeyne roughly out of the way. The

movement knocked her glasses askew, and she glared as she straightened them. The fire

in her eyes, her clear hatred of Tritt, almost made me like her.

It did make me question my assumption that she had a working brain between her

ears, though. People didn’t glare at Tritt. He did what he wanted, and the rest of us edged

out of the way.

Tritt’s long, strong fingers wrapped around my upper arm, pinching hard. My cardigan

hid the roughness of his squeeze, and I smiled through the pain and stepped toward him

as he yanked so it looked as though I’d meant to do it, unwilling to let him embarrass me.

“Hey, baby.” He might as well have said You’re a fucking whore because it was easy

enough for everyone to extrapolate the insult from his tone. The small crowd’s immediate

discomfort displayed in pained expressions, averted gazes, and shuffling feet.

I attempted to keep smiling through the nerves tightening my cheeks. It was all for

nothing since Tritt’s gaze wasn’t anywhere near me but shooting daggers at the new guy,

who had made two mistakes: talking to me and touching me.

“Hi.” I slid the abused arm around his waist, trying to appease him.

The glint in his eyes betrayed the use of a substance other than alcohol and promised

my efforts to smooth things over were wasted. Tritt otherwise looked the picture of class

with his perfectly coifed, shining blond hair, bright blue eyes, pressed khakis, long-

sleeved button-down, and loafers. A well-to-do son following in the footsteps of his

business-mogul father. And that’s exactly what people outside Tritt’s immediate reach

assumed.

He stepped in front of me, crushing my toe beneath his foot. This time the wince

couldn’t be avoided, but his frame hid my pain from everyone except Jeyne, whose eyes

narrowed on my face. I rearranged my features into a haughty expression, daring her to

say a word.

“Hey, man, I’m—” The new guy stuck out a hand, hesitant but trying to shake it off.

Tritt cut off the attempt at friendliness with a swift elbow to the nose. Blood spurted,

splattering like rain on the carpet and dotting my boyfriend’s shirt. As the guy stumbled

backward, hands cupping his face and soft eyes swimming with agony and bewilderment,

Tritt turned to me with a calm expression.

“Get me a goddamn towel.” His voice settled low and quiet. A warning.

 

 

LylaHeadshotLyla Payne has been publishing New Adult romance novels for a little over a year, starting with Broken at Love and continuing with the rest of the Whitman University series and the Lowcountry Ghost stories. She loves telling stories, discovering the little reasons people fall in love, and uncovering hidden truths in the world around us – past and present. In her spare time she cuddles her two dogs, pretends to enjoy exercising so that she can eat as much Chipotle as she wants, and harbors a deep and abiding hope that Zac Efron likes older women. She loves reading, of course, along with movies, traveling, and Irish whiskey. 

Lyla Payne is represented by Kathleen Rushall at Marsal Lyon Literary Agency.

If you want to know more, please visit her at her website.

If you’re a fan of Young Adult fiction–science fiction or otherwise–please check out her work that’s published under the name Trisha LeighTrisha Leigh.

Find her on Social Media :

Website

Facebook

Twitter

Goodreads

Instagram

Mistletoe Links : Kindle | Nook  | iBooks

 

A Rafflecopter  GIVEAWAY :

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Cristina

I started this blog for quite a few reasons: 1. To share my opinions about books I read. (I'm open to recommendations) 2. To express myself in the only way that I love,which is of course writing 3. To connect with people with whom I may share the same interests I read and write because it offers me an escape door from the world we live in. A door which allows me to be whomever I want to be, live wherever in this big world,set off on adventures and most of all because it brings my imagination back to life from its very very long sleep. And of course...Because I love to !! Here are some basic things about your host and writer.. My name is Cristina and I come from Bucharest ( also known as The Little Paris ) were I was born, raised and am currently - still - living. I’ve finished my studies a few years ago and got my bachelor degree at Dimitrie Cantemir University, in my hometown; in Economics. I have to admit that this specialty wasn't my first choice. I have been weighing my choices – as in, to what they can provide me in future – both while I was still in high school and after. Initially I wanted to go to Foreign Languages, but I had a big fall the moment I saw that it wasn't acredited – huge disappointment washed over me. I am still a bit disappointed about that to be honest. I have a huge passion for writing ever since I was little, and even if I had times when I didn't (or couldn't) write anything, now I am right back on track. My dad is the only one who knows how much passion I put into what I write and doesn't giggle or grin when I bring it up. I love having someone’s support no matter how little it is,it still means so much to me. Love, Cris ♥ Hope that those who will follow me like what I post around here and - why not - maybe give some ideas about new topics. :) If anyone wants to add something on the blog please contact me at cristinacryss0@gmail.com

Posted on 16/03/2016, in Blog Tours and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Tentațiile unei Eve

Numai bune pentru bărbați

writingforwords

The blog of author Cassandra Fear, writer of Above the Flames-the first book in The Flames Trilogy available on Amazon now! Amazon US: http://amzn.to/1Njblav Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/1Vxseju

Tich Brewster

Author of Young Adult and Contemporary Romance

The Next Step PR, LLC

Taking Authors to the Next Level

Ryan Jo Summers

A Soul on a Journey

Melanie Fellman Writes

navigating through this adventure called life

Hanna Peach

USA TODAY Bestselling Author of Fantasy

Life&Photography Blog

"You don't take a photograph. You make it." Ansel Adams

comfy reading

the book blog for the comfy reader

Illusion's Street

străduţa mea de iluzii

Empathic Perspectives

An Exploration Of The Empath's Mind

