Book Tour : Close To Destiny by Adria J. Cimino

close-to-destiny-front-coverv10jpg NEW

GOODREADS

Women’s Fiction with Paranormal Undertones
Date Published: February 20, 2015
Purchase Link : Amazon 

BLURB :

 

Kat is struggling to get her life back together and put her anorexia and suicide attempts behind her. She must expel the mysterious inner demons that have plagued her for years, and patch up the rocky relationship with her fiancé. 

 But when she arrives in London for a therapeutic art project, an encounter with an enigmatic woman named Destiny upsets her views of reality and plunges her into a quest for the truth about her past—an astonishing past that reaches back well before her birth.

After midnight, Destiny leads Kat to extravagant parties at an eerie luxury hotel and introduces her to a man who seems to know her better than she knows herself. Kat tries to convince herself this is all part of a strange dream. But as evidence mounts suggesting otherwise, Kat is torn between fascination and fear.

 Will Kat run away, or will she seize the fleeting opportunity to change her life and find true love?

 Alternating between the reality of day and the mystery of night, Close to Destiny by best-selling author Adria J. Cimino is a magical realism story of déjà vu and righting past wrongs that will delight fans of authors like Sarah Addison Allen and Erin Morgenstern. 

 

Destiny gazed at me calmly. There was a comforting, almost magical aura about her. “I want you to meet Will.”

The name rang a bell. I remembered hearing it before I faded out the last time.

“Who’s Will, and why do you want me to meet him?”

“You’ll find out,” she said, patting me on the hand.

Then we stood up and moved forward. The scene was much the same as that of the other evening. Gabriel and Sam were involved in an intense conversation as gyrating bodies decked in baubles and beads moved to the beat of the drums. I followed Destiny through the haze of smoke until we reached one of the bay windows. Below, London’s winding cobblestone streets were dark and sleepy.

I looked up and my heart skipped a beat. Destiny had disappeared. I didn’t want to be left here alone. A soft male voice interrupted my internal panic.

“I’m Will,” he said as he took my hand. “Destiny wanted to introduce us, but I see she’s rushed off to yet another emergency.”

He had dark brown hair, blue eyes and a kind smile. Had I seen him somewhere before? I felt comfortable with him. I racked my brain, but couldn’t come up with a thing. We were closer together all of a sudden, but I don’t remember either of us stepping forward.

“What do you mean by emergency?” I asked, figuring I could find out more about our mysterious friend.

“Oh, Destiny always seems to be helping someone out of trouble,” Will said vaguely. “People trust her.”

“Why did she want us to meet?”

“You should ask her that.”

“You know. But you won’t tell me?”

“I promised I would leave the explanations to her.”

I should have been annoyed, but I wasn’t. How could I possibly be? Those eyes captivated me so…

“Do you know how to get out of this place?” I finally said. “This is the second time she’s taken me here, but I’m sure I couldn’t find an exit on my own.”

Will grinned.

“I know the way, and I’ll be at your side,” he said.

I was grateful that the dimming lights masked the several shades of red that must have colored my face, but I turned away all the same.

“I didn’t mean to embarrass you.”

“That’s OK,” I said, my voice a whisper. “Everything about this situation is odd. How do you know Destiny, anyway? Can you at least tell me that? Who is she really?” I ran a hand through my hair and closed my eyes. “I mean, how does she know who I am and why has she been coming to my room? Who are these people and why are we here with them? I don’t understand any of it.”

“I’ve known Destiny for a few years,” Will said. “I used to travel through London frequently. We met one day when I was doing some research here at one of the libraries. Now, I spend most of my time in New York, but of course, whenever I’m in London, I pay her a visit.”

“But who is she?”

“She’s a young woman with a lot of spirit.”

His eyes were dancing, and I couldn’t help being drawn closer to him.

“And who are you?” I asked. “We haven’t met before, but I feel as if we have. Maybe back in New York? No, I would have remembered. Or, maybe I’m going completely bonkers.”

Will pulled me close to him, and I felt his lips touch mine. My heart was racing. A fleeting thought of Paul disappeared. The room was spinning. I didn’t want this moment to end—ever. Maybe it would have gone on forever if it hadn’t been for the sound of angry voices. It was as if the whole place fell silent so that Sam’s voice could ring out loud and clear.

“It’s your fault, Destiny! Don’t you see?”

 

Adria J. Cimino-author photo 01

 

Adria J. Cimino is the author of Amazon Best-Selling novel Paris, Rue des Martyrs and Close to Destiny, as well as The Creepshow (out in Spring 2016) and A Perfumer’s Secret (also out in Spring 2016). She also co-founded boutique publishing house Velvet Morning Press. Prior to jumping into the publishing world full time, she spent more than a decade as a journalist at news organizations including The AP and Bloomberg News. Adria is a member of Tall Poppy Writers, which unites bright authors with smart readers. Adria writes about her real-life adventures at AdriaJCimino.com and on Twitter @Adria_in_Paris. She lives in Paris with her husband Didier and daughter Phèdre. When she isn’t writing, you can find Adria at her neighborhood café watching the world go by.

 

Contact : Website | Twitter | Facebook

17871573

Great book !

Such a magical and yet confusing – in the beginning – story. Sheesh I can barely write this review !

Kat, a young woman who due to her depression fell into anorexia and even worse tried to kill herself a few times. But her life is about to take a total 180 degree change as she packs for London when her agent, Gewn Garnier calls her to come down and show her art work. Strangest of things happen while she’s staying at the Grand East Hotel. In her first night there she gets a rather strange visit from a girl – let’s face it, who on Earth has the guts to run around a hotel in the middle of the night, naked ? other than someone crazy ?!. This intrigues her a lot and so does her next visit, when the nameless girl takes Kat by the hand and leads her on the hotel’s rooftop where there’s a party. A rather strange one. From the point where she learns the girl’s name everything turns into a crazy ride.

Figures, Destiny is not a total loon after all, but our main heroine does not believe a single word that she says. Up on the rooftop she is being introduced to Will who, from Destiny’s sayings would be someone from Kat’s previous life.

If you’d be given the chance to right the wrongs from your past life, what would do ? Accept it as it is and go forward or be careful, ask questions every step of the way, in an attempt to find out the truth ?!

Well, Kat chose the second option. The one where she’d ask lots of questions in order to find out if it’s true or not. Every night, Destiny takes her to Gabriel’s parties and each time she thinks she’s going crazy. Only that…she is not. She still does not want to believe that Destiny is a medium that what she tells her is not a mumble jumble. She spends almost 5 months at the Grand East Hotel, time in which a lot of things happen. From her falling hard and fast for Will, to Destiny’s death – cause by a terminal illness -, to Audrey’s death. A death that still stay under the question mark.

A very beautiful story whatsoever, about two people who are brought together by a medium, who becomes Kat’s friend in a rather short amount of time. This book reminds me a lot of The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern.

my-rating

4-star-review3

About Cristina

I started this blog for quite a few reasons: 1. To share my opinions about books I read. (I'm open to recommendations) 2. To express myself in the only way that I love,which is of course writing 3. To connect with people with whom I may share the same interests I read and write because it offers me an escape door from the world we live in. A door which allows me to be whomever I want to be, live wherever in this big world,set off on adventures and most of all because it brings my imagination back to life from its very very long sleep. And of course...Because I love to !! Here are some basic things about your host and writer.. My name is Cristina and I come from Bucharest ( also known as The Little Paris ) were I was born, raised and am currently - still - living. I’ve finished my studies a few years ago and got my bachelor degree at Dimitrie Cantemir University, in my hometown; in Economics. I have to admit that this specialty wasn't my first choice. I have been weighing my choices – as in, to what they can provide me in future – both while I was still in high school and after. Initially I wanted to go to Foreign Languages, but I had a big fall the moment I saw that it wasn't acredited – huge disappointment washed over me. I am still a bit disappointed about that to be honest. I have a huge passion for writing ever since I was little, and even if I had times when I didn't (or couldn't) write anything, now I am right back on track. My dad is the only one who knows how much passion I put into what I write and doesn't giggle or grin when I bring it up. I love having someone’s support no matter how little it is,it still means so much to me. Love, Cris ♥ Hope that those who will follow me like what I post around here and - why not - maybe give some ideas about new topics. :) If anyone wants to add something on the blog please contact me at cristinacryss0@gmail.com

Posted on 10/02/2016, in Book Releases and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks so much for participating in my blog tour! I enjoyed reading your review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tentațiile unei Eve

Numai bune pentru bărbați

writingforwords

The blog of author Cassandra Fear, writer of Above the Flames-the first book in The Flames Trilogy available on Amazon now! Amazon US: http://amzn.to/1Njblav Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/1Vxseju

Tich Brewster

Author of Young Adult and Contemporary Romance

The Next Step PR, LLC

Taking Authors to the Next Level

Ryan Jo Summers

A Soul on a Journey

Melanie Fellman Writes

Navigating through this adventure called life

Hanna Peach

USA TODAY Bestselling Author of Fantasy

Life&Photography Blog

"You don't take a photograph. You make it." Ansel Adams

comfy reading

the book blog for the comfy reader

Illusion's Street

străduţa mea de iluzii

Empathic Perspectives

An Exploration Of The Empath's Mind

