Book Nerd Problems | When an Author Takes Too Long Between Books

About Cristina

I started this blog for quite a few reasons: 1. To share my opinions about books I read. (I'm open to recommendations) 2. To express myself in the only way that I love,which is of course writing 3. To connect with people with whom I may share the same interests I read and write because it offers me an escape door from the world we live in. A door which allows me to be whomever I want to be, live wherever in this big world,set off on adventures and most of all because it brings my imagination back to life from its very very long sleep. And of course...Because I love to !! Here are some basic things about your host and writer.. My name is Cristina and I come from Bucharest ( also known as The Little Paris ) were I was born, raised and am currently - still - living. I’ve finished my studies a few years ago and got my bachelor degree at Dimitrie Cantemir University, in my hometown; in Economics. I have to admit that this specialty wasn't my first choice. I have been weighing my choices – as in, to what they can provide me in future – both while I was still in high school and after. Initially I wanted to go to Foreign Languages, but I had a big fall the moment I saw that it wasn't acredited – huge disappointment washed over me. I am still a bit disappointed about that to be honest. I have a huge passion for writing ever since I was little, and even if I had times when I didn't (or couldn't) write anything, now I am right back on track. My dad is the only one who knows how much passion I put into what I write and doesn't giggle or grin when I bring it up. I love having someone’s support no matter how little it is,it still means so much to me. Love, Cris ♥ Hope that those who will follow me like what I post around here and - why not - maybe give some ideas about new topics. :) If anyone wants to add something on the blog please contact me at cristinacryss0@gmail.com

Posted on 20/12/2015, in BNP Videos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. pberinstein

    I would love to get your take on this topic, Cris. How long between books is too long? What happens when there’s too big a gap?

    Like

    • Okay. Challenge accepted ! I hate having to wait a year or more for the sequel or the last book in a series to come out. To be honest I think that in order for us – bookwormies – to be happy, the waiting time should not take up more than a few months – if possible,of course. Hmmm, well we go insane – that’s for sure – until the book comes out. 🙂

      Like

      • So a book every year is just about acceptable, but more often is better? As a reader, I totally relate to that. As the author of a series, I can do that. I just published three books in six months and am hoping to do two a year from now on. Do you think two a year is often enough?

        I do know that many publishers take a very long time to produce a book, though, so I’m not sure how feasible that is for authors who publish traditionally. Certainly Preston and Child do better than that, and they’re traditionally published. Rowling released one Harry Potter a year, if I’m not mistaken. I think it also depends on how easy it is to write the type of book in question. Charlaine Harris’s books are so breezy that she can turn them out quickly. On the other hand, I just heard a presentation by an author who said it took her five years to get her book out. It wasn’t part of a series though.

        I think it’s every author’s dream to have eager fans who can’t wait for the next book. If I get to that point, I will certainly oblige.

        🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Oooh. It’s more than enough. It’s quite perfect actually.We have a young fantasy writer here who publishes two books a year and everyone loves her. I don’t think it all depends on the publisher though. Mostly it depends on the writer – just like you stated – too, because if she/he is engrossed into what they are writing about they can and will get the book out real fast.

    And, yes it is true that it’s every author’s dream. Well, I may not be an author, but I came to understand a little how it feels to have people that like what you write; who can’t wait for you to finish the story so they can read it in its entirety. It is completely awesome.

    You will definitely get there. I am sure of it. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • You are very sweet. Thank you so much for your support, Cris.

      I’m glad two a year is enough. It takes me a few months to write a book, fine tune it, and get the cover done (by my wonderful artist, Anna Mogileva). The hard part is the planning, and that’s where I’m most likely to get stuck. I might have a good idea of what I want to happen with the various plot lines and characters, only to find that the whole thing is too thin and I need to add more. Then I say, “How can I create more obstacles here?” and “How can I add steps to this finale and make it more complex?” And sometimes you can’t just will those ideas into being. You have to let things sit until they pop into your mind. But they always do. 🙂

      Anyhoo, I read in your bio that you write, so I don’t think you can say you’re not an author. If you’re not you will be. And then we’ll be sitting here saying, “Why doesn’t Cristina get on with the next book already?”

      Hee hee!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Don’t mention it. I love supporting great talents no matter where they come from.

    Glad to hear that we are on the same page when it comes to how often should a writer publish a book. It does not happen often to find someone that thinks just like you, and that warms my heart.

    Aww. That is so sweet of you to say ! Thank you so much !
    Why,yes I do love to write. A lot. But time isn’t on my side on this one and I have to postpone everything I start putting down on paper – or nowadays, laptop. I have some of my writings up in the Creative Writing section. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • pberinstein

      The next time someone wants me to do something I feel is a waste of time, I’m going to say, “But I have to get two books out this year. I promised Cristina.” Hee hee hee!

      I would love to check out your writing. Will get back to you ASAP!

      🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hahaha That’s not just me telling you that we want you to publish two books a year. It’s every other bookworm, too.

    Thank you, Paula ! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Elle Middaugh

YA - NA - Fantasy - Romance

Tentațiile unei Eve

Numai bune pentru bărbați

writingforwords

The blog of author Cassandra Fear, writer of Above the Flames-the first book in The Flames Trilogy available on Amazon now! Amazon US: http://amzn.to/1Njblav Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/1Vxseju

Tich Brewster

Author of Young Adult and Contemporary Romance

The Next Step PR, LLC

Taking Authors to the Next Level

Ryan Jo Summers

A Soul on a Journey

Melanie Fellman Writes

Navigating through this adventure called life

Hanna Peach

USA TODAY Bestselling Author of Fantasy

Life&Photography Blog

"You don't take a photograph. You make it." Ansel Adams

comfy reading

the book blog for the comfy reader

Illusion's Street

străduţa mea de iluzii

Empathic Perspectives

An Exploration Of The Empath's Mind

