From YA to NA – How it started and Favorite NA reads

On today’s post I’ll share with you all my journey from Young Adult to New Adult novels, as well as my favorite NA books, so here we go.

I guess that we all need a little change from time to time, and the same goes for book genres. As far as I’m concerned I don’t have any kind of problem with any genre at all. I love exploring each and one of them. You know, like when you set yourself off on a real adventure around the world all by yourself. That is exactly how I am picturing it. Now, it may not be the same thing but they both offer you something new to experience.

So, how did it all started…

Well. We all know how sexy and extremely delicious the book covers for the NA novels look. They’re soo damn irresistable that you’ll read the book just for the cover itself. Now, the thing about these New Adult (NA) books, is that they aren’t meant for everyone. Yes, you can go on and pick up a book that’s meant for people over 18, because you read or heard somewhere that it is so freaking good and worth reading, that you are literally dying to get your very own hands on a copy and start reading it.

Time to face up the facts now, don’t we ?

New Adult books – now I am underlining this, for those of us who didn’t dare pick up a book from this genre – contain strong sexual language and sometimes BDSM. Two things that aren’t meant for everyone’s eyes to read.  I have always said that, in order to read this kind of genre, the reader has to be either prepared for what is written underneath that deliciously crafted cover or be strong enough to handle the language and situations stipulated in the book.

For me, it wasn’t a problem. I knew what I was getting myself into, and also knew that I am strong enough to handle the contents of the book.

What I hate – not about the genre, but – about the people, is that they tend to get all raged up and say mean things about both the writer and the book. People, it’s none of them’s fault that you are not strong enough to handle the book they wrote ! You, yourself decided to give the book a chance, so stop criticizing it the wrong way…

Now, that being said…I think I might need some time alone. Just kidding. The only time alone I need is when I either read or write.

In my defence, I felt like I needed to try something new, try a new dish, get a break from the Young Adult novels of all kinds – not that they’re bad or anything. I didn’t know how I’ll take it to be honest, and to my own surprise it all went great and had – and still have – a great experience reading this genre. My first NA read came from Lisa Renee Jones, the book in question being Escaping Reality. This book got me hooked from the very first page and I couldn’t let it down not even for a second. After reading this one, I had an idea formed in my head about how all these adult books are and got on reading more of them. They’re most certainly addictive, but to this addictivness it’s added the writer’s juicy way of telling that hot story, which makes it even more sexy.

Time to share my Top 7 NA Reads so far, this year :

  1. The Secret Life Of Amy Bensen by Lisa Renee Jones

  2. Bride In Bloom (Beachy Bride #1) by J.B. Hartnett

  3. The Inside Out Series by Lisa Renee Jones

  4. The Story Of Us by Cassia Leo

  5. Leaving Me Behind by Sigal Ehrlich

  6. Shattered Hearts by Cassia Leo

  7. The Edge Of Never by J.A. Redmerski

I know that Lisa Renee Jones and Cassia Leo look like predominant names on my list, but it just looks like it and nothing more. I love all of those I’ve read so far and undoubtedly will love the one’s I’ll be reading soon.

This being all said and done, I want to hear about your experience reading New Adult books.

About Cristina

I started this blog for quite a few reasons: 1. To share my opinions about books I read. (I'm open to recommendations) 2. To express myself in the only way that I love,which is of course writing 3. To connect with people with whom I may share the same interests I read and write because it offers me an escape door from the world we live in. A door which allows me to be whomever I want to be, live wherever in this big world,set off on adventures and most of all because it brings my imagination back to life from its very very long sleep. And of course...Because I love to !! Here are some basic things about your host and writer.. My name is Cristina and I come from Bucharest ( also known as The Little Paris ) were I was born, raised and am currently - still - living. I’ve finished my studies a few years ago and got my bachelor degree at Dimitrie Cantemir University, in my hometown; in Economics. I have to admit that this specialty wasn't my first choice. I have been weighing my choices – as in, to what they can provide me in future – both while I was still in high school and after. Initially I wanted to go to Foreign Languages, but I had a big fall the moment I saw that it wasn't acredited – huge disappointment washed over me. I am still a bit disappointed about that to be honest. I have a huge passion for writing ever since I was little, and even if I had times when I didn't (or couldn't) write anything, now I am right back on track. My dad is the only one who knows how much passion I put into what I write and doesn't giggle or grin when I bring it up. I love having someone’s support no matter how little it is,it still means so much to me. Love, Cris ♥ Hope that those who will follow me like what I post around here and - why not - maybe give some ideas about new topics. :) If anyone wants to add something on the blog please contact me at cristinacryss0@gmail.com

Posted on 19/08/2015, in Primary Menu and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Elle Middaugh

YA - NA - Fantasy - Romance

Tentațiile unei Eve

Numai bune pentru bărbați

writingforwords

The blog of author Cassandra Fear, writer of Above the Flames-the first book in The Flames Trilogy available on Amazon now! Amazon US: http://amzn.to/1Njblav Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/1Vxseju

Tich Brewster

Author of Young Adult and Contemporary Romance

The Next Step PR, LLC

Taking Authors to the Next Level

Ryan Jo Summers

A Soul on a Journey

Melanie Fellman Writes

Navigating through this adventure called life

Hanna Peach

USA TODAY Bestselling Author of Fantasy

Life&Photography Blog

"You don't take a photograph. You make it." Ansel Adams

comfy reading

the book blog for the comfy reader

Illusion's Street

străduţa mea de iluzii

Empathic Perspectives

An Exploration Of The Empath's Mind

