Adaline – Short Movie Review

I don’t know why I’m getting myself into this, but I guess there’s no way of turning back now , is it ?
Okay. Challenge accepted. Yep. That’s how I roll sometimes….Challenge is my second middle name. 😀
I don’t even know how to do a movie review, so please excuse me while I will keep on blabbing about how I think the movie was and what the story behind it, is – IN CASE YOU HAVEN’T SEEN THE MOVIE – yet – , DO NOT READ ! SEE THE MOVIE FIRST, THEN COME BACK HERE ! – so let’s get rollin’.

REVIEW/Impressions

The story is simple and quite emotional, if you ask me. The movie starts with Adaline – who is played by the beautiful Blake Lively – working at a public library in the present, and depicting moments from her life. Starting from the moment she had the car accident that led to her ultimate DNA change. A change that didn’t allowed her to age, not a single bit. Due to that car crash, she had to keep on running from city to city every time, changing her identity and appearance, in order to not get caught by the authorities and get to be a „phenomena” which they will, in the end study.

On New Year’s Eve, at a party, she meets Ellis. A young and gorgeous poetry writer, which decides to donate some books at the library she works at.
An unexpected crush between them starts, and Adaline – in our days known as Jennifer – finds herself in a place where she does not know what to do. Stay or leave. Tough call, as always. One day, Ellis asks her to join him to his parents’ for they were celebrating their marriage anniversary.

Surprise, surprise !

There, Ellis’s father, William , thinks that he’s gone crazy once he meets Jennifer. It takes him a while to find out the truth about who Jennifer really is, and when he does; she is so frightened that packs her stuff and rushes back home. She doesn’t make it to far, unfortunately.
And this is where my question arises : ‘Was that an intentional accident or not ?’ Clearly to me, it looked intentional all the way. Liked it was meant to be – or more precisely, to happen again.

All is good when it ends good.

When the paramedics arrive at the accident, she is once again dead. But when they charge their defibrillators and connect them to her chest, she comes back to life. As expected by some of us – or not – this reverses the process and she begins to age naturally.

Now is now. Giving the movie its stars. 

The actors performance was good and that’s what makes this movie so damn good. I don’t know if it was me who was all emotional at the time I watched it, or if it indeed is all, the movie’s credit. All in all, the movie is great and worth watching. It’s not a waste of time at all.

Giving it the well deserved stars now

While I would totally want to give it 5 stars I can’t. It is 4 stars for me, because I once read a book by a very well known Romanian historian writer, named Mircea Eliade, who wrote a similar story while he was in Chicago. The book in question intitled Youth without youth, depicts the story of a man who wakes up in the hospital with no memory of anything, and who is trying to figure himself out. The action takes places, during the time when Hitler gains his power in Germany, and the Romanian police starts to arrest young people, believing that they belong to the Iron Guard.

About Cristina

I started this blog for quite a few reasons: 1. To share my opinions about books I read. (I'm open to recommendations) 2. To express myself in the only way that I love,which is of course writing 3. To connect with people with whom I may share the same interests I read and write because it offers me an escape door from the world we live in. A door which allows me to be whomever I want to be, live wherever in this big world,set off on adventures and most of all because it brings my imagination back to life from its very very long sleep. And of course...Because I love to !! Here are some basic things about your host and writer.. My name is Cristina and I come from Bucharest ( also known as The Little Paris ) were I was born, raised and am currently - still - living. I’ve finished my studies a few years ago and got my bachelor degree at Dimitrie Cantemir University, in my hometown; in Economics. I have to admit that this specialty wasn't my first choice. I have been weighing my choices – as in, to what they can provide me in future – both while I was still in high school and after. Initially I wanted to go to Foreign Languages, but I had a big fall the moment I saw that it wasn't acredited – huge disappointment washed over me. I am still a bit disappointed about that to be honest. I have a huge passion for writing ever since I was little, and even if I had times when I didn't (or couldn't) write anything, now I am right back on track. My dad is the only one who knows how much passion I put into what I write and doesn't giggle or grin when I bring it up. I love having someone’s support no matter how little it is,it still means so much to me. Love, Cris ♥ Hope that those who will follow me like what I post around here and - why not - maybe give some ideas about new topics. :) If anyone wants to add something on the blog please contact me at cristinacryss0@gmail.com

Posted on 13/07/2015, in Movie Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Elle Middaugh

YA - NA - Fantasy - Romance

Tentațiile unei Eve

Numai bune pentru bărbați

writingforwords

The blog of author Cassandra Fear, writer of Above the Flames-the first book in The Flames Trilogy available on Amazon now! Amazon US: http://amzn.to/1Njblav Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/1Vxseju

Tich Brewster

Author of Young Adult and Contemporary Romance

The Next Step PR, LLC

Taking Authors to the Next Level

Ryan Jo Summers

A Soul on a Journey

Melanie Fellman Writes

Navigating through this adventure called life

Hanna Peach

USA TODAY Bestselling Author of Fantasy

Life&Photography Blog

"You don't take a photograph. You make it." Ansel Adams

comfy reading

the book blog for the comfy reader

Illusion's Street

străduţa mea de iluzii

Empathic Perspectives

An Exploration Of The Empath's Mind

