How I fell in love with Richelle Mead

As much as I’d like to say that I’ve come across her books while I was wandering the aisles of a bookstore, this isn’t how it actually happend.
It all had started with this canadian TV show called Lost Girl. I’m a big fan of the show to be honest. Though the post isn’t about the Lost Girl TV show, I’ll talk a little about it, too – just in case.
Lost Girl is a supernatural drama television series that premiered on September 12 2010 on Showcase. The show focuses on this really gorgeous and charismatic succubus named Bo (played by the also gorgeous Anna Silk). It also follows up her life as she learns to control her supernatural abilities, help those in need, and discover the truth about her origins. As it is, the show’s at its 5th and sadly its final season.

While the show was on its break for the next season, I’ve started to look for some books that treat the same subject as the show I’ve so come to love. That was the moment that brought Richelle Mead up to my attention – I know that, most of her fans have started to love her after the worldwide known Vampire Academy book series and spinoffs,but for me it was another series that made me love her so much.
The series in question is Georgina Kincaid and yes that was my very first encounter with Richelle’s work. I couldn’t put those books down not even for a second. I’d even fallen asleep while reading Georgina Kincaid and I don’t regret it at all.

After that series, I knew that I had to read everything that stirrs me inside and that’s written by her. She’s clearly gifted and she really has it going on when it comes to writing books from YA to Adult ones.
I can’t really put down in words the way she writes,you have to read her books to find out. I guess I’m a sucker for fantasy and mythology since I can’t possibly get away from this genre LOL.
After finishing the Georgina Kincaid series, I’ve looked up for more of her books and found some that really make their way to my heart and keep me alert. And so, I’ve continued my Richelle Mead book marathon with the next two series that really hooked me up. One of them is Age Of X (yes,I own both of them and I’m dying for the next one) and Dark Swan series. Age Of X series are both done reading and while waiting on the 3rd book in the series, I began reading Dark Swan and really love this one as much as the others.
Everyone is sad (including me) that Richelle had postponed the writing on the 3rd Age Of X book, which at least has a pretty title for now The Eye Of Andromeda but still no release date – so far. In the meantime we can enjoy ourselves with her first stand alone book called Soundless which comes out on November 10 2015.

But…because there always has to be a but. I’ve read on Nicole Hewitt’s blog Feed Your Fiction Addiction a few weeks ago that… Drum roll please

1. I’ve been waiting and waiting for this answer since I practically finished reading the first two books in the series, so I cannot possibly say how happy I am right now to read this. But…Please, hurry up with it because that ending had nearly killed me.

The next Gameboard of the Gods book will be coming – probably at the end of this year.

2. More awesome news. This is…WOW. Just started reading the Dark Swan Series and I love it – maybe by the time I’ll actually get to finish reading the last two books in the series, the 5th one will come out. How awesome, would that be…

She’s still thinking of possibly writing another Dark Swan book eventually. She left the series open-ended, and while she says that she almost never writes anything based on fan feedback, she does think that her fans have a point about this one. She can see that there’s more of the story to tell and might come back to it someday. BUT, for now, the YA stuff is taking precedence and she just can’t write as much now, with two kids, as she did before.

3. Does she ever run out of inspiration ? Guess, not. And I’m very happy about that. Cannot wait to see what this new series is about.

She does have another project coming next year that she wasn’t even supposed to mention existed – but she did, so I will too. It will be a new series !

 

NOTE : This post has been also featured – as a guest post – on ShannonThompson.com ! 🙂

About Cristina

I started this blog for quite a few reasons: 1. To share my opinions about books I read. (I'm open to recommendations) 2. To express myself in the only way that I love,which is of course writing 3. To connect with people with whom I may share the same interests I read and write because it offers me an escape door from the world we live in. A door which allows me to be whomever I want to be, live wherever in this big world,set off on adventures and most of all because it brings my imagination back to life from its very very long sleep. And of course...Because I love to !! Here are some basic things about your host and writer.. My name is Cristina and I come from Bucharest ( also known as The Little Paris ) were I was born, raised and am currently - still - living. I’ve finished my studies a few years ago and got my bachelor degree at Dimitrie Cantemir University, in my hometown; in Economics. I have to admit that this specialty wasn't my first choice. I have been weighing my choices – as in, to what they can provide me in future – both while I was still in high school and after. Initially I wanted to go to Foreign Languages, but I had a big fall the moment I saw that it wasn't acredited – huge disappointment washed over me. I am still a bit disappointed about that to be honest. I have a huge passion for writing ever since I was little, and even if I had times when I didn't (or couldn't) write anything, now I am right back on track. My dad is the only one who knows how much passion I put into what I write and doesn't giggle or grin when I bring it up. I love having someone’s support no matter how little it is,it still means so much to me. Love, Cris ♥ Hope that those who will follow me like what I post around here and - why not - maybe give some ideas about new topics. :) If anyone wants to add something on the blog please contact me at cristinacryss0@gmail.com

Posted on 14/04/2015, in Primary Menu and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Glad I could give you some good news, Cristina!! 🙂

    Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction

    Like

  2. I have read so mаny articles or reviews concerning the blogger lovers but thіs post is гeally ɑ good post, keеp it up.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi friends, nice article and fastidious arguments commented here, I am actually enjoying these.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Elle Middaugh

YA - NA - Fantasy - Romance

Tentațiile unei Eve

Numai bune pentru bărbați

writingforwords

The blog of author Cassandra Fear, writer of Above the Flames-the first book in The Flames Trilogy available on Amazon now! Amazon US: http://amzn.to/1Njblav Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/1Vxseju

Tich Brewster

Author of Young Adult and Contemporary Romance

The Next Step PR, LLC

Taking Authors to the Next Level

Ryan Jo Summers

A Soul on a Journey

Melanie Fellman Writes

Navigating through this adventure called life

Hanna Peach

USA TODAY Bestselling Author of Fantasy

Life&Photography Blog

"You don't take a photograph. You make it." Ansel Adams

comfy reading

the book blog for the comfy reader

Illusion's Street

străduţa mea de iluzii

Empathic Perspectives

An Exploration Of The Empath's Mind

